Republic of Namibia
Flag Coat of arms

Motto: "Unity, Liberty, Justice"
Anthem: Namibia, Land of the Brave

Location of Namibia

(and largest city)
22°33′S, 17°15′E
Official languages English1
Recognised regional languages German, Afrikaans, Oshiwambo
Demonym Namibian
Government Republic
 -  President Hifikepunye Pohamba
 -  Prime minister Nahas Angula
Independence from South Africa 
 -  Date March 21, 1990 
 -  Total 825,418 kmē (34th)
318,696 sq mi 
 -  Water (%) negligible
 -  July 2005 estimate 1,820,9162 (144th)
 -  2002 census 1,820,916 
 -  Density 2.5/kmē (225th)
6.5/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2005 estimate
 -  Total $15.14 billion (123rd)
 -  Per capita $7,478 (77th)
Gini (2003) 70.7 [1] (high) (1st)
HDI (2007) 0.650 (medium) (125th)
Currency Namibian dollar (NAD)
Time zone WAT (UTC+1)
 -  Summer (DST) WAST (UTC+2)
Internet TLD .na
Calling code +264
1 German and Afrikaans were official languages until independence in 1990. The majority of the population speaks Afrikaans as a second language, while Oshiwambo is the first language of approximately half the population. German is spoken by 32% of the European community whereas English is only spoken by 7%.[1] Estimates for this country explicitly take into account the effects of excess mortality due to AIDS; this can result in lower life expectancy, higher infant mortality and death rates, lower population and growth rates, and changes in the distribution of population by age and sex than would otherwise be expected.

Namibia, officially the Republic of Namibia, is a country in southern Africa on the Atlantic coast. It shares borders with Angola and Zambia to the north, Botswana to the east, and South Africa to the south. It gained independence from South Africa in 1990 and its capital city is Windhoek (German: Windhuk). Namibia is a member state of the United Nations (UN), the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the African Union (AU), and the Commonwealth of Nations. It is named after the Namib Desert.